Macedonia (Roman province) (Organization, Concept)

Canonical URI:


Preferred Label
Macedonia (Roman province) (en), Macédoine (fr), Macedonia (es), Macedonia (it), Macedonia (de), Μακεδονία (el)Additional labels


The Roman province of Macedonia (Latin: Provincia Macedoniae, Greek: Ἐπαρχία Μακεδονίας) was officially established in 146 BC, after the Roman general Quintus Caecilius Metellus defeated Andriscus of Macedon, the last self-styled King of the ancient kingdom of Macedonia in 148 BC, and after the four client republics (the "tetrarchy") established by Rome in the region were dissolved. The province incorporated the former kingdom of Macedonia with the addition of Epirus, Thessaly, and parts of Illyria, Paeonia and Thrace. This created a much larger administrative area, to which the name of 'Macedonia' was still applied.

Data Provenance


Quantitative Analysis

Typological Distribution

Measurement Analysis