Scientific Committee

The scientific committee consists of experts in the fields of numismatics, computer science, and Semantic Web principles.

Rahel Ackermann

Swiss Inventory of Coin Finds

ORCID logo

Rahel C. Ackermann is an archaeologist and numismatist, and the director of the Swiss Inventory of Coin Finds (SICF). She is a member of the steering committe of the European Coin Find Network (ECFN) and – together with David Wigg-Wolf – co-chair of the DARIAH-EU Working Group Digital Numismatics.

Karsten Dahmen

MK Berlin

ORCID logo

Dr Karsten Dahmen is a Classical Archaeologist and Numismatist at the Münzlabinett Berlin, and of 2018 its deputy director. His curatorial responsibilities are Late Antiquity, Byzantium, the Orient, and non-German (foreign) Medals. He is in charge of managing digital concepts at the Münzkabinett, and editor of the Normdatenportal.

Frédérique Duyrat

Bibliothèque nationale de France

ORCID logo

Frédérique Duyrat is an ancient historian and numismatist, and the director of the Département des Monnaies, médailles et antiques of the Bibliothèque nationale de France in Paris. Together with Ulrike Peter she is responsible for the Greek numismatics working group, and with Andrew Meadows and Pere Pau Ripollès for the ARCH project.

Ethan Gruber

American Numismatic Society

ORCID logo

Ethan is the Director of Data Science at the American Numismatic Society, responsible for the society’s digital collections, archive, and library, and is responsible for Linked Open Data modeling and software architecture at the ANS and, and

Sebastian Heath


ORCID logo

Sebastian Heath is Clinical Associate Professor of Computational Humanities and Roman Archaeology at NYU’s Institute for the Study of the Ancient World. He has a long standing interest in the application of digital methods to numismatics, with a particular focus on the use of Linked Open Data and Semantic Web standards for modelling and querying numismatic databases.

Andrew Meadows

New College, Oxford University

ORCID logo

Andrew Meadows is Professor of Ancient History at the University of Oxford, and was formerly Curator of Greek Coins at the British Museum and Deputy Director the ANS. He co-founded the project, and has been the PI of a number projects that have been built on it, including OCRE, ARCH and OXUS-INDUS.

Ulrike Peter

Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities

ORCID logo

Ulrike Peter is a numismatist at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Her research focuses on the ancient coinage and monetary history of Thrace and the neighboring regions. She initiated and manages the online portal Corpus Nummorum.

Peter van Alfen

American Numismatic Society

ORCID logo

Peter van Alfen is Chief Curator at the American Numismatic Society. Along with Ethan Gruber he has been a (co-)PI on a number of projects that have both contributed to and utilized including AOD, PELLA, AGCO, PCO, SCO, BIGR, HRC, and

Karsten Tolle

Goethe University Frankfurt

ORCID logo

Karsten Tolle is a computer scientist with his roots in databases and semantic web. He is currently the director of the Big Data Lab at the Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main. Since over ten years, he is working in the domain of ancient coins with a focus on: linked open data (LOD), machine learning (NLP, deep learning / image recognition) and data quality.

Christian Weiss

Swiss National Museum

ORCID logo

Christian Weiss is Keeper of the Coin Cabinet of the Swiss National Museum and lecturer in numismatics at the Universities of Bern and Zurich. He is a board member of the Swiss Numismatic Society and CAA Switzerland, as well as project leader of the Online Swiss Coin Archive (OSCAR).

David Wigg-Wolf


ORCID logo

David G. Wigg-Wolf is a senior researcher at the Römisch-Germanische Kommission des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts. His research interests include the production, circulation and use of coinage in Western and Central Europe from the late pre-Roman Iron Age to the early Medieval period, and digital numismatics. He is also co-chair of the DARIAH-EU Digital Numismatics Working Group, and convenor of the European Coin Find Network.